Since I was made to read a lot when I was younger, and I was a lit major I included just a few re-reads in this list. I searched numerous ‘100 books you must read before you die’ type lists and ‘100 greatest classics ever written’ compilations from the ALA, BBC, NYT and so on and so forth. I kept seeing titles I had already read so I did a little compromising. Re-reads are denoted with the rr. I did accomplish the goal that year.  Favorites; Ana Karenina, The Master and the Margarita, and Dr. Zhivago.

Middlemarch- George Elliot

Ana Karenina – Leo Tolstoy

Love in the time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

(rr)Great Expectations- Charles Dickens

Jude the Obscure-Thomas Hardy

The Three Musketeers- Alexander Dumas

Wild Sargaso Sea- Jean Rhys

The Master and the Margarita-Mikhail Bulgakhov

Lolita- Vladimir Nabokov

The Beautiful and the Damned – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Moby Dick – Herman Melville

Invisible Man- Ralph Ellison

(rr)Little Women- Louisa May Alcott

The Alchemist- Paoulo Coehlo

The Picture of Dorian Grey- Oscar Wilde

(rr)Cat on a Hot Tin Roof- Tennessee Williams

A Room with a View- E.M. Forester

The Age of Innocence- Edith Wharton

The Hunchback of Notre Dame- Victor Hugo

(rr)The Turn of the Screw- Henry James

The Odyssey – Homer

(rr)Junky –William S. Burroughs

Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson

The Name of the Rose-Umberto Eco

Dr. Zhivago- Boris Pasternak

Ulysses- James Joyce

A Passage to India- E.M. Forester

Mrs. Dalloway – Virginia Woolf

The Color Purple- Alice Walker

(rr) A Farewell to Arms- Ernest Hemingway

